Book Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass (english version)

(podem ver esta review em português → aqui)
img_20170129_163558As you’ve seen by the title this review is going to be about Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Maybe it’s a little weird to be reviewing this book, specially because it’s a pretty old book and also it’s more of a children’s book. Obviously I’m no child but when I was younger I had no interest in books so I’ve only gotten this one in 2015.

I watched the animated movie, the one from Disney, when I was a child and later on I saw the Tim Burton one but those movies don’t really catch my attention. However, my best friend loves Alice, and because of her I started to get curious about the book. To be honest, I had no idea who the author was.

SYNOPSIS:
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass is a collection of stories featuring the titular character, Alice, and her misadventures through the curious and fantastical lands of Wonderland. As little Alice goes deeper and deeper down the rabbit hole, she meets an assortment of oddball characters, like the eccentric March Hare, the whimsical Mad Hatter, and the enigmatic Cheshire Cat, who will all become familiar faces within this strange world.

If Alice is to navigate the dangerous yet fascinating landscape of Wonderland, she must learn who is friend and who is foe, and use her good breeding and wits to find a way home.

Sorry for spoilers.
Okay, I already knew what I was getting into when I started reading the book. Curious girl follows a white rabbit, falls in his burrow and goes to the Wonderland, a land where everyone is crazy. Fine, let’s not say crazy, let’s just say that they do not think the same way we’re used to think. I will start by saying that I did not like the story. Why does the baby become a pig in the sixth chapter ? Why do you play cricket with flamingos? Nothing makes sense! I felt that the book is a cluster of unfinished stories completely different from each other , where the only point in common is the presence of the white rabbit, who every now and then appears running to go to the Queen of Hearts.

I also did not realize what’s the big fuss with the Cheshire Cat, whom everyone loves, because in my opinion it does not play a big part in the story. It does not say anything that makes us say WOW.

at the end of the day, the animated Disney movie does not shy away from what is written in the book. It just does not have some parts but they are not very important.

Now, Through The Looking Glass… I had no idea what to expect but it also disappointed me. In this book, Alice is able to return to the Wonderland but the landis different. It has become a giant chess game where the characters are running from one place to another. This is where we meet the White Queen and the Red Queen, who appear in the Disney movie with Tim Burton. This story disappoints me more than the previous one because it makes even less sense. Why is the country a chess game this time? Why did it change? It doesn’t make sense to me …

Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of Wonderland. I like the idea of having a place where things work differently. I also like the way the author tells the story, I mean, we can’t forget that this book was written in 1865! It takes a great deal of imagination to come up with story like this one. However, I feel that this book os not for me. I can understand why so many people love this book and are completely obsessed about it, but it just doesn’t work for me. There’s a lot going on at the same time and there’s too much nonsense. I do not like the fact that there is no explanation at all. Maybe if you told me why the Mad Hatter is crazy, I would like it more.

Speaking of more cheerful things now, let’s see the illustrations. Yes, you’ve guessed, I bought the book from Seven Seas because of the illustrations. I mean, this looks like a Japanese manga! Also, I wanted both wonderland and looking glass in just one book. img_20170130_214800

All of the illustrations were made by Kriss Sison and they are both coloured and black and white.

At the beginning of the book, there are several illustrations that occupy two pages. The pages that contain them are not made with the same material the others are, they almost look like that kind of paper you use for photographs.img_20161218_143902

I especially like the change that Kriss Sison made on Mad Hatter. In the original illustrations he is drawn pretty much like an old man, and in the Disney animated film as well. I prefer this version I honestly think it blends better with the whole story.

Almost all of the pages are illustrated, and there are illustrations that occupy two pages, one page or half a page.img_20170130_201442

img_20170130_201352img_20170130_201316

At the end of the book, we have the concept art for several characters.img_20170129_164621

And that’s it, we’ve come to the end of the review.
Now, to summarize what I said, no, I did not like the book because I did not like the story but I like the whole idea of Wonderland. I like the characters too!

If you like books with bizarre stories where there is no explanation for anything, I strongly recommend it! Now if you like something more concrete or you like to know why something the way it is, forget it, it’s not a book for you. XD

I gave it a 3 star rating on Goodreads.

(please, if there’s any mispealing or grammatical errors feel free to point it out, I won’t be offended and it helps me to improve my English, which I need for college ^.^)

“- Stay Sweet!”

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass (english version)

Deixe uma Resposta

